Author Topic: help! should i cancel surgery this week???  (Read 3333 times)

Offline dav242

• Bronze Member
i'm freaking out a little bit about all of this -

i'm a student, on spring break this week, and last week i put down a deposit for surgery (lipo-only) this wednesday.

i haven't paid the full amount yet (i'm supposed to do that tomorrow), but i've been having what i can only describe as major anxiety attacks about this whole procedure over this past weekend. i think i've only gotten about 4-5 hours of good sleep over the past two days... it's like every 20 minutes, i think about this surgery or the possible side effects or complications...

my issue is this: i've seen 5 different doctors now about my situation, all of whom said that i'd need lipo only (i'm not significantly overweight - 5'5'', 125 lbs, and so i've concluded, from all these visits and from research, that fat cells have just clumped disproportionately in my chest area, probably due to genetics or slow testosterone growth or something of that nature - )

none have found breast tissue (or any major breast tissue), and when i pinch my chest, i dont' feel any hard tissue... but it really looks as though i have some kind of gynecomastia and it's been incredibly difficult to live with

the thing is, because i'm on spring break, i wanted to get ths procedure done and over with, so i could start with the healing process

i went with a doctor whose price quote was $3600 (covers general anesthesia, surgeon's fee, etc - everything included) - others gave me quotes in the 4000s,...

this doctor doesn't specialize in gynecomastia procedures, but acc to him and his patient coordinator, he has "seen plenty of these cases" -

in describing the procedure, he mentioned making incisions for the cannula right below the chest, UNDERNEATH the nipple, which was VERY alarming at first to me because the incisions would be in such a noticeable place