Author Topic: Post surgery crater  (Read 6520 times)

Offline BB2012

• Posting Member
So I have had puffy nipples since I was 12 like many people on this site, I am now 24 and two weeks ago I chose to have it removed.  I had very low body fat(prior to Thanksgiving + no exercise due to surgery) and my doctor said it would be a simple case and we discussed that it was better for him to be conservative because I was very worried about cratering.  He did gland excision with no lipo because he felt I didn't have enough fat to take any away.  However, I am two weeks out and there is a very clear 3-4" depression around my left nipple.  It gets even worse when I move or flex my chest.  I have heard of swelling going down months after the surgery but is it normal to have indentation so soon or did the Dr. take out too much tissue?  Also the borders of the depression are very firm unlike the other side which is a bit swollen and squishy.  
I am a personal trainer and I have been looking forward to exercising and training without a shirt but now worried I will be just as self conscious as before.

I know it is early and everyone heals different but I would like to know if this gets beter with time and if not what my options are.  Thanks!

Offline Dr. Elliot Jacobs

• Elliot W. Jacobs, MD, FACS
  • Senior Moderator
    • Gynecomastia Surgery
Two weeks is much to early to judge any results.  Oftentimes, there may be swelling on various areas of the chest, which, by contrast, make some of the normal areas appear like a crater.

Best to delay final judgment for at least 4-6 months.  In the meantime, you should see your surgeon for routine follow-up and discuss the situation.

Dr Jacobs
Dr. Jacobs 
Certified: American Board of Plastic Surgery
Fellow: American College of Surgeons
Practice sub-specialty in Gynecomastia Surgery
4800 North Federal Highway
Boca Raton, Florida 33431
561  367 9101
Email:  dr.j@elliotjacobsmd.com

Offline BB2012

• Posting Member